Tigers elect to bat in second ODI against India



Bangladesh have won the toss and elected to bat in their second match of the three-match ODI series against India at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Wednesday.

The Tigers have made one change to the squad that featured in a thrilling one-wicket win in the series opener. Pacer Hasan Mahmud makes way for left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed.

India have also made two changes, with Axar Patel and Umran Malik coming in for Shahbaz Ahmed and Kuldeep Sen, respectively.

After a scintillating performance with the bat from all-rounder Mehedi Hasan Miraz saw the Tigers pull off a stunning victory in the first game, Bangladesh will be eyeing what will be their second ODI series victory against India. The first one was when India last visited Bangladesh, in 2015.

Meanwhile, India will look to stage a comeback and Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan was yesterday confident of levelling the series today.

Bangladesh will have to be wary of the mistakes made in the first game. The Tigers, chasing a low 187-run target, suffered a batting collapse in the middle as they went from 128 for four to 136 for nine before a Miraz blitz saw the hosts snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

Playing XIs: 

Bangladesh: 1 Najmul Hossain Shanto, 2 Litton Das (capt), 3 Anamul Haque, 4 Shakib Al Hasan, 5 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Afif Hossain, 8 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 9 Nasum Ahmed, 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Ebadot Hossain
India: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 KL Rahul (wk), 6 Washington Sundar, 7 Axar Patel, 8 Shardul Thakur, 9 Deepak Chahar, 10 Mohammed Siraj, 11 Umran Malik

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More