Spain World Cup squad: Julen Lopetegui announces 23-man selection for Russia

0 158

GB news 24 desk//

Spain have announced their World Cup squad ahead of Russia this summer.

Head coach Julen Lopetegui named his 23-man squad on Monday with Chelsea’s Alvaro Morata the headline name to miss out alongside Blues teammates Cesc Fabregas, Pedro and Marcos Alonso. Cesar Azpilicueta and former Chelsea striker Diego Costa are included, however, reports

Sergio Ramos will captain the side and is joined by Real Madrid teammates Marco Asensio, Dani Carvajal, Nacho and Lucas Vazquez.

Barcelona’s Andres Iniesta, who is leaving the Camp Nou after 22 years this summer, is also included.

Morata’s late-season lack of form appears to have cost him his place in Russia.

The 25-year-old managed only 11 league goals this season and only appeared as a last-minute substitute in Saturday’s FA Cup final victory over Manchester United.

Spain open their tournament against rivals Portugal on June 15 before facing Iran five days later. They close Group B against Morocco on June 25.


Full squad

Goalkeepers: David De Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli), Kepa (Athletic Bilbao)

Defenders: Dani Carvajal, Sergio Ramos, Nacho (all Real Madrid), Jordi Alba, Gerard Pique (both Barcelona), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Odriozola (Real Sociedad)

Midfield: Sergio Busquets, Andres Iniesta (both Barcelona) Saúl, Koke (both Atletico), Thiago (Bayern) Silva (Manchester City),

Isco, Marco Asensio, Lucas Vázquez (all Real Madrid)

Forward: Iago Aspas (Celta), Rodrigo (Valencia), Diego Costa (Atletico)

Leave A Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More