Imran Khan elected 22nd prime minister of Pakistan

0 344

GB news 24 desk//

PTI Chief Imran Khan has been elected the 22nd prime minister of Pakistan.

Khan won with 176 seats while his opponent, PML-N’s Shahbaz Sharif, secured 96 votes in the polling that took place in the National Assembly on Friday.

Shahbaz Sharif and Imran Khan shake hands before the start of voting. ─ DawnNewsTV
As the newly elected speaker of the house, Asad Qaiser, announced the results, the house erupted with chants of “na manzoor” [unacceptable].

The newly elected members of the National Assembly finished casting their votes for the two contenders in the running for the premier post: Imran Khan and Shahbaz Sharif.

According to DawnNewsTV, PML-N leader and former assembly speaker Ayaz Sadiq made a last-minute attempt to convince PPP Chairperson Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari ─ whose party earlier announced it would abstain from voting ─ to support Shahbaz Sharif.

Leave A Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More