AL gives nomination to mayor candidates in 25 pourasava elections



Awami League has finalised a list of 25 candidates for contesting the 25 Pourasava elections where voting will take place on December 28 next under the first phase.

The names of the candidates were finalised at meeting of the Awami League Local Government Representative Nomination Board held at Awami League office on Saturday afternoon.

The nomination board president and prime minister Sheikh Hasina chaired the meeting.

According to the decision of the meeting, the candidates who were nominated for 25 Pourasavas under the first phase are:

Under Rangpur division, Zakia Khatun at Panchagarh Pourasava, Md Bashirul Alam at Pirganj in Thakurgaon, Md Khawja Main Uddin at Phulbari in Dinajpur, Md Ahsanul Huque Chowdhury at Badarganj in Rangpur and Md Kaziul Islam at Kurigram Pourasava.

Under Rajshahi division, Md Rabiul Islam at Puthia Pourasava, Md Abbas Ali at Katakhali Pourasava, Monira Akter Khan Toru Lodi at Shahjadpur Pourasava and Sakhawat Hossain Sako at Chatmohor Pourasava in Pabna.

In Khulna division, Al Masum Morshed at Khoksa Pourasava in Kushtia district, Sanat Kumar Biswas at Chalna under Dakop upazila in Khulna and Reazul Islam Joarder at Chuadanga Pourasava.

In Barishal division, ABM Golam Kabir at Betagi Pourasava in Barguna district, Abdul Barek Molla at Kuakata Pourasava under Kolapara upazila in Patuakhali district, Md Giasuddin Bepari at Ujirpur Pourasava in Barishal district and Md Lokman Hossain Dakua at Bakerganj Pourasava.

In Dhaka division, Md Ramzan Ali at Manikganj Pourasava, Golam Kabir at Dhamrai Pourasava and Md Anisur Rahman at Sreepur Pourasava in Gazipur district.

In Mymensingh division, SM Iqbal Hossain Sumon at Gafargaon Pourasava in Mymensingh district and Md Abdul Hannan Talukder at Madan Pourasava in Netrokona district.

In Sylhet division, Biswajit Roy at Dirai Pourasava in Sunamganj district and Abul Imam Md Kamran Chowdhury at Borolekha Pourasava in Moulvibazar district and Md Masuduzzaman Mashuk at Shayestaganj in Habiganj district.

In Chattogram division, Badiul Alam will be given ‘Boat’ symbol to contest in the election.

It was stated in a press release sent by AL office secretary Barrister Biplob Barua.

Earlier on November 22, the Election Commission (EC) announced the election schedule at 25 pourasavas. Announcing the schedule, EC’s senior secretary Md Alamgir said the election would be held at 25 pourasavas from 8:00am to 4:00pm on November 28 without any break.

The last date for submitting the nomination paper to the Returning Officer is December 1, while the last date for scrutinising the nomination paper is December 3 and the last date for withdrawal of nomination paper is December 10.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More