Sitakunda AL triennial conference infighting injures 12



At least 12 members of Sitakunda Upazila Awami League unit were injured in a clash during its triennial conference on Friday.

Officer-in-Charge (OC) of Sitakunda Police Station Firoz Alam Molla said: “The activists clashed over sitting arrangement around 2:30 pm. The injured were admitted to the Upazila Health Complex.”

According to local sources, the clash erupted within 15 minutes of the conference.

After the clash, Abdullah Al Baker Bhuiyan and Upazila Chairman SM Al Mamun were elected president and general secretary of the upazila AL unit.

Member of the Parliament (MP) Fazle Karim Chowdhury inaugurated the conference where AL Presidium Member Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, MP, MP Didarul Alam; Chattogram Zila Parishad Chairman MA Salam, among others, were present.

When the committee was announced, followers of Didarul Alam left the venue shouting slogans rejecting it.

The triennial conference took place after seven years.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More