BIMSTEC leaders invited for Narendra Modi’s swearing in on 30 May


The Ministry of External Affairs (MEA), on Monday, announced that the Government of India (GoI) has invited the leaders of the BIMSTEC Member States for the Prime Minister’s swearing-in ceremony on May 30. This is in line with the Government’s focus on its “Neighbourhood First” policy.

“The President of the Kyrgyz Republic, who is the current Chair of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization, and the Prime Minister of Mauritius, who was the Chief Guest at this year’s Pravasi Bhartiya Divas, have also been invited,” said the MEA.

The Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) is an international organisation of seven nations of South Asia and South East Asia. The BIMSTEC member states include Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal and Bhutan.

In 2014, when Narendra Modi was sworn in as the Prime Minister of India for the first term, leaders of the SAARC countries had been invited.

Narendra Modi will take oath as the Prime Minister on May 30 at 7 pm at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Members of Union Council of Ministers will also take the oath. This was communicated by the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Sunday afternoon.

“The President will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Prime Minister and other members of the Union Council of Ministers at 7 pm on May 30, 2019, at Rashtrapati Bhavan,” said a tweet from the official Twitter account of Rashtrapati Bhavan run by the President’s Secretariat.

The ceremony will be held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

This is the second time after 2014 that Modi would be sworn in as the Prime Minister of India.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More