Bashundhara dominates season in BPL


GBnews24 desk//

Bashundhara Kings played a 1-1 draw with Chattogram Abahani Limited in the last league match of the 13-team Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football today at the Bangabandhu National Stadium.

Marcos Vinicius, a Brazilian forward, put the new champions Bashundhara Kings ahead in the 16th minute, utilizing a pass from Costa Rican forward Daniel Colindres Solera.

After conceding the goal, Chattagram Abahani created strong pressure over the Bashundhara Kings with their attacking football.

Kyrgyz midfielder Daniel Nii Armah Tagoe levelled the scoreboard for Chattagram Abahani in the 45th minute, getting an opportunity of a penalty (1-1).

Although both sides had several close chances, they failed to change results in the rest of the match.

Bashundhara Kings, interwoven with stars, emerged as the new champions in their very first appearance in the 13-team prestigious league with two matches to spare after playing a 1-1 draw with traditional Dhaka Mohammedan SC at their home venue — Sheikh Kamal Stadium — in Nilphamari on July 25.

On the other hand, Dhaka Abahani Limited, last two times champions, finished runners-up crushing former champions Sheikh Jamal DC by 4-1 goals in their last league match at Bangabandhu National Stadium here on July 29.

A total of 13 teams took part in the double-league BPL that began on January 18 last this year. A total of 156 matches, split into 26 rounds, held days at country’s six different venues.

Bashundhara Kings recorded the biggest home win of the BPL season beating Brothers Union FC by 5-0 goals at Sheikh Kamal Stadium in Nilphamari on July 16 while Sheikh Russel KC booked the biggest away win of 6-1 goals against Muktijoddha SKC at Sheikh Fazlul Haque Mani Stadium in Gopalganj on July 24.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More