Bangabandhu International Gold Cup trophy unveiled


GB news 24 desk//

The trophy of the 5th edition of Bangabandhu International Gold Cup 2018 formally unveiled through a fabulous ceremony at a city’s local hotel today.

Commerce Minister Tofail Ahmed MP attended the unveiling ceremony as the chief guest.

Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister AKM Shahjahan Kamal MP, Bangladesh Olympic Association Secretary General Syed Shahed Reza, Bangladesh Awami League Youth and Sports Affairs Secretary Harunur Rashid, Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) president and South Asia Football Federation president Kazi M Salahuddin, BFF senior vice-president Abdus Salam Murshedy MP, BFF vice president Kazi Nabil Ahmed, BFF general secretary Abu Nayeem Sohag and BFF Women’s wing chairman Mahfuza Akter Kiron, were among others, also present on the occasion.

It was a historic decision taken by the BFF to arrange such a prestigious tournament under the leadership of Kazi Salahuddin, said commerce Minister during the trophy unveiling ceremony.

The Commerce Minister, who was also very much connected with sports and took part different sports competitions in his youth said, “Our Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina gives a lot of importance in sports.”

“I congratulate all to organize the prestigious tournament and wised all the best,” he concluded.

Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister AKM Shahjahan Kamal MP said football is still the most popular game in the country.

Kamal, who used to play football in his school life, also assured to provide all assistance on behalf of his ministry and government for the development of country’s football.

To commemorate and respect the memory of the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the Bangabandhu International Gold Cup 2018, will take place from October 1-12 Sylhet District Stadium in Sylhet and Bir Shreshtha Ruhul Amin Stadium in Cox’s Bazar and country’s premier venue Bangabandhu National Stadium.

It would be the fifth edition of the most coveted competition while this time BFF is going to organise the tournament after one year interval when the fourth edition was held in 2016.

The group stage matches will be held in Sylhet, while the two semifinals are slated in Cox’s Bazar and the final will take place at Bangabandhu National Stadium on October 12.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is expected to present in the grand final of the tournament as the chief guest and distribute the prizes.

Apart from hosts Bangladesh, Palestine, Philippines, Laos, Nepal and Tajikistan will compete in the prestigious international tournament.

Nepal, Philippines and Palestine have agreed to send their national teams in the tournament.

Bangladesh has been drawn in Group B of the 6-nation tournament along with Laos and Philippines whereas Nepal, Palestine and Tajikistan have been pitted in Group A.

Bangladesh will start their tournament campaign when they will face Laos on October 1 at Sylhet district stadium. State-owned Bangladesh Television will telecast live all the matches while Bangladesh Betar will stream live commentary.

The Tickets of Taka 50 for gallery and Taka 100 for VIP have been fixed.

The colorful ceremony concluded following cultural program.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More