56 candidates, mostly from BCL, set to be elected unopposed


As many as 56 candidates, most of them Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) leaders, are set to win uncontested in the elections to 18 hall unions of Dhaka University.

BCL is the student wing of ruling Bangladesh Awami League.

More than one Dhaka University officials engaged with the DUCSU election process told Prothom Alo that at least 56 candidates are going to win uncontested out of 234 posts as there are no other contestants against them.

The posts include three assistant general secretaries, 30 secretaries and 23 members.

The officials said that most of these candidates are from the BCL panel.

Leaders of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal carry out campaign ahead of DUCSU polls on 3 March. Photo: Dipu Malakar“Winning in so many posts without any contest is unexpected. The polls to residential halls will not be meaningful if there is no contest,” DU professor emeritus Serajul Islam Choudhury told Prothom Alo Sunday.

He pointed out that it was expected everyone would take part in DUCSU election being held after many years and it would be competitive.

Eight candidates of several dorms alleged that they stepped aside from the election race after the BCL men had threatened them to withdraw their candidature.

They were contesting in various posts from Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Hall, Haji Mohammad Mohsin Hall, Muktijoddha Ziaur Rahman Hall, Shaheed Sergeant Zahurul Haque and Salimullah Muslim Hall.

Salimullah Muslim Hall’s general secretary aspirant Abu Sayem Rabbi, a candidate of the left-leaning student alliance, alleged that he had received a phone call to withdraw his candidature.

BCL candidate Julius Sizer’s follower Kanon Molla made the phone call, he said.

The DUCSU returning officer said they would look into the allegation made by Rabbi.

Former DUCSU general secretary Mustak Hossain told Prothom Alo that most of the student organisations could not announce complete panels for DUCSU election as the campus was dominated by the ruling party’s student wing for years.

Liton Nandi, president of Bangladesh Chhatra Union’s DU unit and DUCSU vice president (VP) candidate, said there is no coexistence as the halls are ruled by the ruling party’s student wing.

Chhatra Union leaders campaigning ahead on DUCSU polls. Photo: Dipu Malakar”Even if the leaders and activists of other student bodies tried to stay in halls, they could not do so. And this created such an atmosphere where the student organisations could not nominate anybody to contest the polls,” he told Prothom Alo.

Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD) vice president (VP) candidate Mustafizur Rahman said that the winning of so many candidates uncontested is the result of BCL’s occupation of halls for years after years and administration’s BCL-friendly roles.

DUCSU AGS candidate Saddam Hossain, also general secretary of DU BCL, however, said, “This proves Chhatra League is the last hope of general students. Those who made allegation against BCL could not even form panels for hall units. And this allegation does not suit them.”

Polls to Dhaka University Central Students Union (DUCSU) and all residential hall unions would be held on 11 March after a gap of 28 years.

According to the DUCSU charter, elections will be held in 25 posts of DUCSU and 13 posts of every hall union. Right now, DU has 18 dormitories (residential halls).

Final list of candidates

Quota reform movement leaders campaigning ahead on DUCSU polls on 3 March. Photo: Dipu MalakarAs many as 21 candidates are contesting for VP post. They are: Rezwanul Haque Shovon, Mostafizur Rahman, Liton Nondi, Arani Semanti Khan, Abdullah Al Labib, Abdullah Ziyad, ADM Abbas-al-Qureshi, SM Ata-e-Rabbi, Omar Faruque, Noquibul Hasan, Fahmida Majid, Abdul Aleem, Golam Rasel, Tito Mollah, Naeem Hasan, Nurul Haque, Rakibul Islam, Russel Sheikh, Shofiqul Islam, Shihab Shahriar and Shofiq Sarker.

While there are 14 candidates contesting for the post of GS. They are: Golam Rabbani, Anisur Rahman, Umme Habiba, ARM Asifur Rahman, Jalal Ahmed, Foisal Mahmud, Mamun Fokir, Khondokar Mahmudul Hasan, Rashed Khan, Rashedul Islam, Shafika Rahman Sheli, Shafi Abdullah, Shahriar Rahman and Sanam Siddique.

A total of 13 candidates are contesting for the post of AGS. They are Amit Pramanik, Anup Roy, Ashraful Alam Fahim, Farah Mahjabin, Abu Raihan Khan, Khorshed Alam, Zahurul Islam, Faruk Hossain, Saddam Hossain, Rahmat Ullah, Shariat Ullah, Shahidul Islam and Sadekul Islam.

Eleven candidates are contesting for the post of liberation war affairs secretary, 9 for science and technology secretary, 9 for common room and cafeteria secretary, 11 for international affairs secretary, 8 for literary secretary, 12 for cultural affairs secretary, 11 for sports secretary, 10 for students transport secretary, and 14 for social service secretary.

Moreover, 86 candidates are contesting for the 13 member positions.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More