Buses to ply on 42, out of existing 291 routes



In order to resolve traffic congestion and bring discipline back to the roads in Dhaka city, buses and minibuses will ply on 42, out of existing 291 routes.

Besides, 22 companies comprising some 2,500 bus owners, will be formed.

It was stated by Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) Mayor Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh at a meeting of Bus Route Rationalisation Committee held at Buriganga Bhaban in Nagar Bhaban in the capital on Tuesday (November 10).

He said the buses and minibuses which come from Gazipur and Narayanganj districts will have to stay at the terminals outside the Dhaka city. It will substantially reduce the traffic congestion as well as additional pressure on the Dhaka city.

Joining the meeting through online platform, Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) Mayor Md Atiqul Islam presented his opinion.

DSCC Mayor Taposh said the Bus Route Rationalisation Committee is working to offer a disciplined and congestion-free roads to the city dwellers. The committee has also made substantial progress in its work.

“We have proposed to reduce the number of routes to 42, lowering from the existing 291 taking with the representatives of owners, workers and law enforcing agencies. We have planned to bring some 2,500 onwers, who own some 4,500 buses and minibuses, under 22 bus companies,” Taposh said.

“If we can do it, traffic congestion in the Dhaka city will substantially go down. Besides, seperate terminals will be built for the buses and minibues coming from Gazipur and Narayanganj. After dropping the passengers, those buses and minibuses will go back. It will help reduce traffic congestion in the capital.”

The Bus Route Rationalisation Committee meeting was attended by DMP Commissioner Md Shafiqul Islam, BRTA Chairman Noor Mohammad Mazumder, BRTC Chairman Ehsan Elahi, Rajuk Chairman Md Sayeed Noor Alam, Bus Route Rationalisation Committee’s member secretary and DTCA’s executive director Khondker Rakibur Rahman, Dhaka North City Coproration’s Traffic Engineering Circle’s superitendent engineer Md Arifur Rahman, Public Transport expert Dr SM Salehuddin, Bangladesh Sarak Paribahan Malik Samity president Khondker Enayet Ullah, Bangladesh Sarak Paribahan Malik Samity president Ajmal Uddin Ahmed and Bangladesh Sarak Paribahan Malik Samity’s general secretary Advocate Mahbubur Rahman.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More